mommybegood

Aiming to be happier families.

Put that back where you found it!

A girl in Tibet

Image via Wikipedia

(Because not all learning is serious, and in some cases the children are actually the teachers – in this case I was taught that children can take your teaching literally)

Every day in my little pre-school, the children and I would sit in a circle and have a discussion. I used to sneak in little things and this day I was sneaking in ‘senses’. I always tried to keep fun uppermost as children learn more in fun.

Me (pointing to my eyes): “What are these?”

Children: “Eyes!”

Me: “And what do we use our eyes for?”

Children: “To see!”

Me (pointing to my ears): “What are these?”

Children: “Ears!”

Me: “And what do we use our ears for?”

Children: “To hear!”

Me (pointing to my mouth): “What is this?”

Children: “Mouth!”

Me: “And what do we use our mouth for?”

Children: “To eat/talk!”

Me (sticking out my tongue): “What is this?”

Children: “Tongue!”

Me: “And what do we use our tongue for?”

Children: “To taste!”

Me (pointing to my nose): “What is this?”

Children: “Nose!”

Me: “And what do we use our nose for?”

Silence

Then one child piped up and said: “Not for picking hey?”

All the children fell around laughing and when they quietened down I said: “No, it is not for picking, we use our nose to smell.”

I should have stopped there, but I continued to tell them that although we sometimes feel the need to pick our noses, that it wasn’t polite to do it when anyone was watching and that if we did we should always have a tissue…

After that, if I saw someone with a finger headed towards their nose, all I had to do was tell them I was watching and they would run for a tissue.

Not long afterwards, I was serving lunch. The children were all seated around the tables, which had been pushed together to form one long table. As I came out with two lunches in my hand, I noticed a little girl in the centre of the table with her finger up to the first knuckle in her nose.

I gave a little cough, called her name and said: “I am watching.”

The finger immediately made a hasty exit but the content of her left nostril was on the end. She looked around ad realised she couldn’t get out from her position.

I still had the lunches in my hand so I said (hoping one of the other children would take the cue and run for a tissue for her): “Oh dear, what are you going to do with that?”

She looked around, frowned, rolled it into a ball and……

Inserted it back into her left nostril (!)

I couldn’t fault that, so I served the lunch and held my giggles until I was out of sight.

YOU MAY ALSO ENJOY
https://denisehankinbooks.wordpress.com/

http://finkingfoughts.wordpress.com/

 

18 July 2011 - Posted by | Teaching | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Your comments are my inspiration, please feel free to leave one

