mommybegood

Aiming to be happier families.

“Take your fingers out your mouth, I can’t hear what you’re saying”

This weekend, I spent a day with a four-year-old (a relatives son). I noticed that he has a habit of putting his fingers in his mouth and talking around them, which causes adults to keep telling him to take his fingers out of his mouth because they can’t understand what he is saying. Whenever an adult does this, he pouts and walks away.

We had a fun day, playing football, going to the park, climbing on everything together and chasing after butterflies. We found an abandoned child’s bucket and decided to collect one’s (one spider, one stone, one dandelion etc.)

I decided that whenever he put his fingers in his mouth to talk to me, I would put mine in my mouth to reply. I did it as if it was totally normal to do this and every time I did, he would reach over and just pull them out of my mouth.

As the day wore on and he kept putting his fingers in his mouth, so too did I. Eventually he said, “I have taken my fingers out of my mouth so you have to take yours out,” and so we did.

 

IF YOU ENJOY WHAT YOU READ HERE, YOU MAY ENJOY MY OTHER BLOGS AT:

http://forestofeyes.wordpress.com/

http://finkingfoughts.wordpress.com/

29 August 2011 - Posted by | Things Children Say | , , ,

No comments yet.

Your comments are my inspiration, please feel free to leave one

